History of Philosophy

The History of Philosophy division focuses its teaching and research primarily on the Classical Antiquity. Among the central authors are Plato, Aristotle, Theophrastus, Cicero, Plotinus. Moreover, the Early Modern Period, especially its reception of the Classical Antiquity, is a subject covered by the division. As a special feature, we here in Bern also focus on the comparison of Greco-Roman and early Chinese ethics.

Full Professor of History of Philosophy

Project Staff

PhD Students